The gift of time? My first Prezi.

I have a presentation to undertake for my PG Certificate in Higher Education this week. I decided to try to put together a Prezi presentation for this. It took far longer than I hoped to do so, perhaps because I am a bit of a Luddite at times, but here is a link to it (I hope).

Needless to say I will be speaking to this. To give you a bit more background, “Clinical Legal Education” is a term that describes the use of pro bono publico student law clinics to further a student’s education, with a somewhat happy by-product of meeting some of the unmet legal need of a society. I have blogged about law clinics before, but this is my first real attempt at putting something together for pedagogical purposes. Academic courses do exist in various institutions, allowing students to gain credits for a degree through clinical activity, but not in my institution. At Aberdeen, the law clinic (known as the Aberdeen Law Project) came first, and it is doing just fine without me fiddling around with it, but then again maybe the students who are working so hard voluntarily should get some benefit over and above a warm, fuzzy feeling inside when they solve someone’s problems. That is what I am studying, i.e. how do you bolt-on or reverse engineer an academic course without upsetting that which is already in place.

As to the presentation, it is fair to say this took me longer than a PowerPoint to put together, but I am all for trying new things. Do you think I have done the format justice? Or should I just not bother with it? I am happy to soldier on, as long as it gets easier.

So a dual purpose blog. Pro bono publico legal advice as a means to legal education and technological innovations to teaching. Comments would be very welcome on both.

About basedrones

Bachelor of Laws. Scots lawyer working at the University of Aberdeen. English law qualified. Took far too long to write this bio. Blogs on legal issues, with occasional veering into other purportedly intellectual stuff from time to time. Tweets about legal issues, education, law clinics, fitba, music, rogue cell division and not at all about politics at @MalcolmCombe.
This entry was posted in Academia, Education, Law Clinics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The gift of time? My first Prezi.

  1. Mike McDermott says:

    To be honest I think just as good and less distracting presentation could have been done with ppt The prezi is fine but I find it distracting as I keep thinking what amount of work must have went in to each slide & transition to the next slide and thinking it would have been a lot less in ppt I think the prezi has a place in corporate selling of an idea e.g. Trumph trying to sell his gold course on the Menzies estate or a developer trying to bamboozle people and hide things by being “flash” Indeed I wouldn’t be surprised if prezi came from a corporate institution to start with!

    A long winded way of saying – I think ppt is a better way of giving a presentation.

    All you want is to get the facts across with some examples possibly with some images to highlight the main points. The prezi is more like an advert in my opinion.

  2. Andy Todd says:

    Interesting comment, and accurate, as I’ve used Prezi for client pitches over PowerPoint for those very reasons (well except the bamboozle and hide things…) as it offers a ‘wow’ factor generated by not being PowerPoint.

    One of the dangers of Prezi is that it distracts from the speaker. Poor speakers are desperate for Prezi because they think it will make their presentation better. Instead, it makes it worse. A poor speaker is even more exposed by a flash presentation than just a PowerPoint.

    My preference now is to keep Prezi simple and predominately use it for images rather than for text. For text, the difficultly in updating it compared to PP, means it takes longer to prepare and to check. I’m still finding typos in the Prezis I prepared months ago, whereas PowerPoint is much more reliable.

    To show some of the uses we’ve made off it, in case the examples help, I’ve set out two links below. One was to a public presentation to public sector contacts for a case update, the other a seminar to trainees which tried to use no text.

    Public sector: http://prezi.com/-piesxufifso/public-aye-real-estate/?auth_key=291c3a06db4f586eba335a09a0d9d991acc1be8f&kw=view–piesxufifso&rc=ref-1599220

    Trainees: http://prezi.com/hbglhksv_c45/just-do-it-seminar-march-2012/?auth_key=480c053a616933cf0263862463de709b41f3271c&kw=view-hbglhksv_c45&rc=ref-1599220

    ps. just thought, the other annoying thing about Prezi is that they keep changing their interface every few months. It is better than it was 18 months ago but I have to keep re-learning how to do things. PowerPoint is PowerPoint and it never changes, which can be a good thing when you just want to think about the presentation.

    • basedrones says:

      Thanks for both the above interesting comments. I delivered the presentation today, and it seemed to go well, although as I had no lawyers in the audience I spent most of the time explaining what it was a law clinic does. Progression through my Prezi was accordingly slowed, hence there was less of a rushed and swoopy presentation going on in the background!

  3. Pingback: Clinical Legal Education | The Aberdeen Law Project

  4. Pingback: Student Attitudes to Clinical Legal Education | basedrones

  5. Pingback: Clinical Legal Education - Casus Omissus

Leave a Reply

