Still droning after one year

One year ago, I wrote this piece. There, I explained why I felt the need to take up the virtual pen. One year on, I still seem to be doing it.

Blogging

I won’t revisit the reasons I listed a year ago as to why to bother with a blog in detail, but I will add one thing that I omitted there. The blog has proved to be a really useful networking tool. Now, whilst I love networking chat as much as any reformed, previously fee-earning lawyer (sorry, former colleagues), I think the blog has been particularly useful at sharing ideas and it has led to some useful real-life chats with and introductions to other bloggers in a way that would have been kinda weird without our mutual on-line manifestos: yes, I appreciate having an online receptory of views might also be categorised as kinda weird, but so be it. Speaking of kinda weird things, there have been one or two moments when I have met individuals who know me only through the internet. I suppose that is very 21st century, but again it does make for networking opportunities. Lastly, at least one radio appearance came about as the direct result of a blog, so if you are looking for tangible (or at least aural) results from blogging I suppose that would be the best example.

In terms of topics, my blog has ranged from law clinics, pedagogy, social justice, land reform, company law, FOI, devolution, self-determination, judicial review, access to justice and back again. By some distance, my top post was about whether or not the directors of a company were in breach of the Companies Act 2006 by suggesting a boycott of an event that ought to have earned the company they were directors of money. It is surely coincidental the company in question was The Rangers Football Club Limited. Excluding irreverent posts or mini-blogs that linked to alternative resources (like Storify collected tweets or online articles), my least popular post was on rights of access. (Ironically, I put far more thought into that one than I did on the fitba post.)

I predicted last year the blog would be useful for “cutting my teeth”, or at least giving me a preliminary forum for my writing. The best example of that process is probably this blog and this successor article in the Journal of the Law Society of Scotland. I also noted that the blog could be a useful way of organising my own thoughts and notes, a trick I have played on a number of occasions after attending conferences or speaking at events.

So there we have it. My experiences of the blog have been generally positive. I hope readers have also found something of interest. If not, well, I didn’t force you to read this.

As always, comments welcome.

Image credit – cheezburger.com

About basedrones

Bachelor of Laws. Scots lawyer working at the University of Aberdeen. English law qualified. Took far too long to write this bio. Blogs on legal issues, with occasional veering into other purportedly intellectual stuff from time to time. Tweets about legal issues, education, law clinics, fitba, music, rogue cell division and not at all about politics at @MalcolmCombe.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still droning after one year

  1. Graham says:

    As I’ve said to you both in these comments sections here and in person (I consider myself already thoroughly networked to you, well-apart from our interactions on this blog), I’m thrilled that you’ve continued to charge ahead and keep on bloggin’.

    I have frankly zero experience and knowledge of the law (discounting that one time I represented myself – successfully – at the Sheriff Court vs North Lanarkshire Council), but I nevertheless find myself returning, time and again, to read. And that is A Big Thing, and something I thought worthy of mention on your Birthday blog.

    Here’s to another year.

  2. Pingback: An unexpected diagnosis, an unorthodox birthday and an unwelcome tumour | basedrones

Leave a Reply

