David Carey Miller: a tribute

I have a new blog post over at the School of Law’s WordPress site.

It goes without saying this was a tough one to write. I first met David Carey Miller’s work as an undergraduate student at the University of Strathclyde, referring to his book (with Anne Pope) Land Title in South Africa in my dissertation and learning from his knowledge of corporeal moveables in Scots law in my ordinary and honours level courses. I first met David Carey Miller the person at the University of Strathclyde, as noted in the AberdeenUniLaw blog post. Whilst being geekily star-struck, he quickly set me at ease and thus began an important friendship. I benefited greatly from his knowledge and his warmth at various stages of my life. I appreciate many people knew him for longer than I did, but I am still feeling pretty numb. And that is before I (and colleagues) begin to deal with the practical and emotional consequences of a sudden death, even if David did have a proverbial good innings beforehand. The Taylor Building will seem strangely empty without him.

About basedrones

Bachelor of Laws. Scots lawyer working at the University of Aberdeen. English law qualified. Took far too long to write this bio. Blogs on legal issues, with occasional veering into other purportedly intellectual stuff from time to time. Tweets about legal issues, education, law clinics, fitba, music, rogue cell division and not at all about politics at @MalcolmCombe.
This entry was posted in Aberdeen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

